

# Honorary Degrees and Fellowships Committee – Terms of Reference

#### 2024-2025

### **Parent body**

Council

## **Purpose**

- 1. To invite and consider suggestions from members of the College, Alumni and current students for the conferment of honorary awards.
- 2. To make recommendations to Council that the College should award Honorary Degrees or Fellowships to particular individuals.
- 3. To make recommendations to Council on the College's response to any invitation from the University of London to make proposals concerning Honorary Degrees, or the process of awarding Honorary Degrees.

## Members

Composition	Member	Term
Chair: Vice Chancellor	Professor Frances Corner	ex officio
Three independent members appointed by Council, of whom at least two shall be members of Council	Dr Mary Stiasny OBE	to 2027
	Vacancy	
	vacancy	
The member of Council elected by the non-academic staff	Flora Cipullo	ex officio
A member elected by Academic Board, to be a member of Academic Board at the time of election	Dr Rebecca Charlton	to 2025
Two members of the academic staff elected by Academic Board	Vacancy	
	Dr Carole Sweeney	to 2025

Composition	Member	Term
Chief Finance and Infrastructure Officer	Imran Chughtai	ex officio
Deputy Director of Communications, Marketing and Recruitment	Tom Morgan	ex officio
Director of Development and Alumni	Alison Woolley	ex officio
Honorands Bedel	Dr Marl'Ene Edwin	ex officio
A full member of the Students' Union appointed by the Student Assembly	Shada Abdalqadar	to 2025
A full member of the Students' Union appointed by the Student Assembly	Nour Matar	to 2025
Secretary	Sarah Martyn	

eot – end of term

#### **VERSION CONTROL**

Full revision of ToR	September 2023	Governance Secretariat
Approval	20 September 2023	Nominations and
		Governance Committee
Approved	4 October 2023	Council
Updated membership	11 December 2023	Governance Secretariat
Updated membership	25 March 2024	Governance Secretariat
Updated membership	October 2024	Governance Secretariat
Updated job titles	December 2024	Governance Secretariat
Updated membership	6 March 2025	Secretariat