

Learning, Teaching and Student Experience Committee – Terms of Reference

2024-2025

Parent body

Academic Board

Purpose

The Learning, Teaching and Student Experience Committee (LTSEC) is the key strategic committee of Academic Board responsible for oversight of the strategic planning relating to all aspects of assuring and enhancing the quality of learning, teaching, assessment and the wider student experience.

These include the quality of learning, teaching and assessment in relation to any award with which the University is associated; and matters relating to student experience, including student voice, student support and retention and progression.

LTSEC has two subcommittees which focus on particular aspects of its overall remit and report to it: Programme Scrutiny Sub Committee (PSSC) and Student Access Participation and Outcomes Sub Committee (SAPOSC).

Terms of reference

- 1. To consider and advise on the development and delivery of the education and student experience pillar of the Goldsmiths 2033 strategy.
- 2. To establish clear communications with the Learning and Teaching Committees in each department to facilitate effective development and monitoring of departmental learning, teaching and assessment strategies and action plans.
- 3. To monitor the University's progress against learning, teaching and assessment Strategy objectives and associated action plans.
- 4. To develop and promote best practice and innovation in learning, teaching and assessment, taking account of research and development work undertaken in the Teaching and Learning Innovation Centre (TaLIC).
- 5. To develop and encourage the promotion of the University's approaches to enhancing the student experience, and for encouraging the internal sharing of

good practice with respect to student experience including, student voice, student wellbeing, retention and engagement.

- 6. To receive reports and minutes from its sub-committees and to approve their recommendations as appropriate.
- 7. To consider and report to Academic Board on the following, together with any proposals which require action by the Board or by other individuals or bodies within the University:
 - a) annual reports relating to the quality of teaching and learning.
 - b) annual reports relating to student survey data (internal and external), including the NSS.
 - c) reports relating to the University's Access and Participation Plan, including confirmation of Departmental Development Plans produced in response to APP (and other) targets and monitored by SAPOSC.
- 8. To consider, and advise Academic Board on, strategic planning and policy development matters relating to learning resources.

Members

Composition	Member	Term
Deputy Vice Chancellor for Education and Student Experience	Professor Paul Rowlett (Interim)	ex officio
Head of Student Success	Tobin Webb	ex officio
Chair of Programme Scrutiny Sub- Committee	Craig Ruddock	ex officio
Chair of Student Access, Participation and Outcomes Sub-Committee	Vacancy	ex officio
Director of Library Services	Andrew Preater	ex officio
Director of the Teaching and Learning Innovation Centre	Dr Fiona Handley	ex officio
Director of IT	Laura Munday	ex officio
Head of Equalities, Diversity and Inclusion	Waqar Ali	ex officio
Academic Director - International Development and Academic Partnerships	Paul Yuille	ex officio

Composition	Member	Term
Associate Deans (Education and Student Experience)	Damian Owen-Board	ex officio
	Professor Jose Van Velzen	
Two academic representatives from each Faculty	Dr Carole Sweeney (Faculty of Creative Arts and Media)	to 2025
	Dr Geri Popova (Faculty of Social Innovation)	to 2025 (eot)
	Professor Alice Jones Bartoli (Faculty of Social Innovation)	to 2025 (eot)
	Dr Ariane Agunsoye (Faculty of Social Innovation)	to 2027
Education Sabbatical Officer	Sofian Kourkzi	ex officio
One other sabbatical officer of the Students' Union	Vacancy	
One Student Co-ordinator from each Faculty (including one Postgraduate Student)	Vacancy [Faculty 1]	
	Vacancy [Faculty 2]	
Secretary	Gareth Bodrell	

eot - end of term

VERSION CONTROL

Full revision of ToR	September 2023	Governance Secretariat
Approval	20 September 2023	Nominations and
		Governance Committee
Approval	4 October 2023	Council
Updated membership	25 March 2024	Governance Secretariat
Updated membership	October 2024	Secretariat